Official Declaration

I am quitting smoking.

I felt the need to state this, all on its own, because it’s a pretty big decision for me. I’ve been smoking for the better part of 2 1/2 years, and it’s become a big part of my life and routine.

Why am I doing this, might you ask? Well, obvious health benefits aside (because, frankly, that didn’t factor in at all), I’m mostly doing it because I’m just sick of it. I haven’t enjoyed smoking as of late. It doesn’t taste good, I’m doing it too often on my own (instead of socially), and it’s expensive. Plus, I’m getting sick of my stuff smelling like smoke.

…I also hate being addicted to something. Being addicted means I am not in control of my habit. And I can’t handle something controlling me. So, I’m going to show this “nicotine habit” who’s boss, dammit.

So, dear readers, that’s what’s going on in my life. I’m giving up the fags (I just really wanted to type that). It’s probably going to be hard as balls, but I figure this is as good a time as any.

Even if it is a week and a half before finals.

Leave a Reply

