So It Goes, I Suppose

Song of the moment: Alive With the Glory of Love Say Anything

I didn’t mean to rhyme the title, it just kind of happened.

So explain something to me, blogoworld. Tell my why some people cannot fucking get over someone they used to crush on/date. What is it about these people that makes them cling hopelessly to this fantasy of theirs?

It just baffles me. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve clung to a few crushes longer than I should have in the past. But, here’s the difference: I got the fuck over it. I don’t pine away after someone I used to love. When it didn’t work out, for whatever reason, I was upset… then I moved on.

What a novel fucking concept.

I’m surrounded by people who can’t seem to move past shit like that. Hell, one of my goddamn exes won’t leave me the fuck alone because he seems to be under the impression that there’s still a chance there.

Fuck that. He’s a twat who I “dated” (I don’t even count it as real dating, to be honest) briefly years ago. All our interactions since have been antagonist and cruel or else him attempting to get back with me and me politely turning him down. I’m to the point where I’m going to punch him in the throat next time I see him. Think he’ll get the goddamn point then?

I don’t know how I manage to attract men that cling on like that and don’t let go. I really don’t. And none of them take rejection well, so we can’t even remain friends after the fact. Oh no. And half of them are so immature that they then get pissy and stop talking to me all together.

Fantastic.

But it’s not just me. I see this everywhere. Fuck, I know girls right now who are still desperately hoping their crushes of two or three years will finally see the light and love them back. Here’s a news flash, world: This is not Hollywood. They aren’t going to wake up one morning and realize the girl they want has been right beside them all along. Stop wasting your time wanting these guys and move on with your life. There are tons of guys out there- go meet them.

It takes effort to move on from love (and from infatuation- don’t get those two confused, for fuck’s sake), but you can do it. You just have to fucking do it. It’s really that simple. It takes time, but it can be done.

Jesus. I hate people.

Leave a Reply

