“Woke Up This Morning” A3

On the subject of this song, the soundtrack to The Sopranos definitely deserves an honorable mention on my favorite soundtracks list. I constantly forget how great the music is on that show.

I woke up this morning, got myself a gun
Mama always said I’d be the Chosen One
One in a million, I believe I gotta burn to shine
I was born under a bad sign with a blue moon in my eyes

I woke up this morning and all that love had gone
My Papa never told me about right and wrong
But I’m looking good, baby, I believe that I’m feeling fine
I was born under a bad sign with a blue moon in my eyes

I woke up this morning, and the world turned upside down
Lord above, things ain’t been the same since the Blues walked in our town
But I’m one in a million cause I got that shotgun shine; shame about it
Born under a bad sign with a blue moon in my eyes

I woke up this morning everything was gone
By half past ten my head was going ding-dong
Ringing like a bell from my head down to my toes
Like a voice telling me there was something I should know
Last night I was flying but today I’m so low
It’s times like these make me wonder if I’ll ever know
The meaning of things as they appear to the others
Wives, husbands, mothers, fathers, sisters and brothers
And I wish I didn’t function
And I wish I didn’t think
Beyond the next paycheck and the next little drink’
Well I need to make up my mind to go on
But when I woke up this morning everything I had was gone

Leave a Reply

