“It’s Thunder and It’s Lightning” We Were Promised Jetpacks

If there’s one thing I have a weakness for, it’s Scottish men. I need to move to Scotland, where the beards flow like beer from kegs at a frat party, and the brogues make me hornier than after I’ve downed a bottle of red wine.

Musically, if there’s one thing I have a weakness for, it’s singers with accents. I’m not talking about musicians who have an accent when speaking. I’m talking about the ones who maintain their accents when singing.

Often, a singer’s accent will drop away when singing. Some artists, however, keep that delicious sound in their music. A good example is the lilting Cockney of Kate Nash.

But another example is We Were Promised Jetpacks. A Scottish indie rock band (see how it all ties together?), they manage to maintain their brogues while singing. And that… well, that’s like sex for my ears. An aural orgasm, if you will. [An aurgasm, mayhap?]

Anyway, enjoy this sample of their musical stylings:

***

Also, I recently started watching Treme, that show about musicians and folk in post-Katrina New Orleans. While I don’t normally go for television dramas… this one is damn compelling.

And I’m fiercely in love with bearded busker Sonny and his fiddling ladylove, Annie.

4 responses to ““It’s Thunder and It’s Lightning” We Were Promised Jetpacks

  1. So, I was looking for a song that turned out to be She Loves You, by Gaslight Anthem. You have the lyrics of many other songs in a similar vein – by which I mean beautifully upsetting – and I bet you could put together a playlist that would depress the hell out of me. In the best possible way.
    In return, and in keeping with your apparent fondness for good music and Scottish-ness, I would like to point you in the direction of Three Blind Wolves, and Frightened Rabbit.

Leave a Reply

