The New Man in My Life

So…

I was hesitant at first. I wasn’t sure I was ready to commit to him. Sure, he was sexy, but I didn’t know if we’d connect on an emotional level. I need more than just attractive. I need substance. I need depth. But I took the plunge. I gave him a shot. And I have to say…

I love my new computer.

Windows 7 is far and away the smoothest Windows version I’ve had the pleasure of operating. It’s taking some getting used to, naturally. Not only have I owned a Mac for the better part of the last four years, but I haven’t messed with Windows much since XP was around. Needless to say, there are some differences.

And these differences are, in my opinion, all to the good.

Much of this seems to stem from the fact that Microsoft has rather blatantly ripped off many features of the Apple OSX. Of immediate note is the dock. Yes, Windows has a dock now. Just like Apple. Which fills me with glee as I’m old and crotchety and set in my ways, and the fact that I don’t have to amend my dock-using habits is a little slice of heaven.

The task bar has also been updated (pleasantly so), and the overall interface is much more user friendly. But you can feel the Apple thievery in everything from the layout to the animation/movement of the windows. It’s sleek, it’s sexy, and it’s about damn time, Microsoft.

Quick question, galleons: What do you think the first pre-installed program I nixed was?

If you answered Internet Explorer, you are correct! Seriously, fuck that shit.

I am also… no longer acquainted with using a system that’s up-to-date in the hardware department. I’m now using a recent graphics card, I have a much larger screen, and my memory has shot through the roof. As a test, I turned WoW on. And I nearly shit a brick. This is what I’ve been missing for the past few years?

In two weeks (i.e. when I get paid again), StarCraft II is gonna happen. And it’s going to be glorious. I may weep a little from the sheer beauty of the experience.

Naturally, there are still some hurdles to overcome, the largest of which is transferring my massive music collection over to the new laptop. What with Ghiert 2.0 still crapping out at random, this will prove to be a delicate operation. It will probably have to occur in stages.

Overall, though, I’m extremely happy with the new laptop. Maybe it’s my fixation with shiny objects. Maybe it’s the novelty. Or maybe it’s a bit of both, plus the fact that this computer is a marked step up from my old one.

I look forward to bonding with Ghiert 3.0 over the coming weeks. I can already tell this is the start of a beautiful relationship.

Also… Ghiert 3.0 is blue. How awesome is that?

Leave a Reply

