“Everything I Have”

Sometimes I imagine a Sunday morning
Grievances aired over a cup of coffee
Our secrets bare on a Formica table
Oh, this silence is killing me

There’s a shadow in your vision
But if you let me be your eyes
You’d see yourself through a prism
Dark corners filled with light

You deserve so much more than I can give
But I’m offering you everything I have
You deserve so much more
So much

If you would just take a chance
We could duck the fence
Scale the girders
Press our bodies to the wall
And a single gasp would tell you
This is all I’ve ever wanted
You’re all I’ve ever wanted

And you deserve so much more than I can give
But I’m offering you everything I have
You deserve so much more
So much

Oh, you deserve so much more than I can give
But I’m offering you everything I have
You deserve so much more…

We’re one step forward
And two steps back
And my body’s screaming
Like a heart attack

We could be so much more
So much

Leave a Reply

